SHANNON RAYNIECE- A DESIGNER WITH A DREAM

It never hits me until a moment later that something I do, whether it’s taking photos or just giving advice, can turn into something HUGE!  But you can’t have BIG without a great team.  A team that is willing to go beyond their norm and beat the odds of society saying what CAN’T be done.

I was selected to be part of this team and more times then not, I’m not one to want to be the face of what’s to come, but much rather be behind the scenes creating it.  I had the opportunity of doing both.  How the hell did that happen???  Let’s just say it’s about time it happened because this was a confidence boost for me a million times over.

In the early 2000’s I enjoyed modeling for a bit.  It was fun being in front of the camera, but it started to become more of a job than the hobby I had made it out to be.  It felt like I had to work at being classified as beautiful or pretty when I just wanted to be.  I once remember a photographer put me to the task of practicing “DUCK LIPS” which to me, did not personify beauty at all.  It was what was in, but not for who I was as a woman at that time.  While needing to pose in rather raunchy ways, I also didn’t learn much from most photographers I’ve come across as a model.  The direction was very limited which made me feel uncomfortable and like I was just eye candy.  That’s when I realized I wanted more for myself.  I wanted to give back something that most photographer’s try to steal away from models.  I wanted my subjects to still be themselves so I decided to create.  I decided to be the one behind the lens to capture moments and authentic beauty from everyday life and people.While  not just being a model but also the photographer for this project, the experience was beyond incredible.  It was an adrenaline rush to have photos of me taken by Shannon Brown of Shannon Rayniece.  From having makeup done to posing in these amazing clothes then changing into something comfy (with makeup still on my face)  and taking photos of the other models was definitely a great feeling.  I felt proud! I am proud!

The amount of doors that has opened for each and every Black Gem that has participated in sharing their time, creative spunk and ideas was phenomenal.  This collaborative Photo shoot has gotten us all ready for what’s next to come.

 

I created this platform to showcase all of the talent that was brought together in just 1 day. Although we must say goodbye to the summer, I have to say it has taught me so much patience this year.  Patience was key to everything that has been going in my life for sure. That patience surely allowed us ladies to develop magic, “Black Girl Magic”

But before I jump into what has been  really going on, I have had the pleasure of interviewing this dope individual who I’m so blessed to call a friend of mine (she just so happens to be the seamstress of my daughter Amani’s Dress), Shannon Brown.  


E: Hello Shannon, and thank you for doing this interview with Lu Ave and 32nd Street Lounge!!! It’s an honor to have you with us.  

Also, congratulations on being our FIRST to interview here in this column. Welcome!!!  

S: Wow! Thank you for having me; I feel honored.

E: Please allow our viewers and followers to understand the who and what is behind your brand “Shannon Rayniece”.  What does it stand for and what has gotten you started in the fashion world?

S:  I’ve always been interested in fashion. My earliest memory would have to be telling my mom that I wanted to make clothes for my Barbies/ dolls because I did not like the clothes that they were wearing. I also remember getting in trouble for cutting up a pillowcase to make a dress for myself. Fashion is something that has always been inside of me. As I got older, I learned that my mother wanted to be a fashion designer and my grandma made a few garments for close family and friends. In a way, you can say I am living their dreams.

The name “SHANNON RAYNIECE” is my first and middle name. We are a high-fashion brand that focuses on bold colors, prints and classic silhouettes. SHANNON RAYNIECE caters to the confident, cutting edge woman that is dominating and exploring new territories. She is professional and wants clothes to reflect her power and femininity.

E: Did you immediately know what it was that you wanted to do upon college, or was there something else that was of interest to you?

S: My senior year of high school, I told my college counselor that I wanted to go to school for fashion. I was accepted into Lasell College (MA) for Fashion Design– however, I was unable to attend. Luckily, Mercer County Community College (NJ) was just starting their fashion program. So, I attended MCCC for 3 semesters and did one semester at Moore College of Art and Design (PA). Although I did not finish school, I taught myself additional sewing techniques. I hope to go back to school in the near future to obtain a degree.

E: Let’s talk about your recent collaboration in which surprisingly I was able to be part of and am so blessed and grateful you have even asked for me to join in on such “Black Girl Magic”.  What was the name of your line?

S: To be honest, I do not have a name. This all kind of happened by accident.

E:  What inspired you?

S: I was on a 2 year hiatus to learn more about the fashion industry. In the beginning of this year, I wrote down a goal to work on developing SHANNON RAYNIECE. On July 1st, I had a wedding to go to and needed an outfit to wear. So, the day of the wedding, I made an outfit. From there I kept sewing trying to get back in the swing of things. I did not expect to create a mini collection.

E:  Do you feel your inspirations to create are what truly pushed these specific designs?

S: Absolutely. Some of the pieces in the collection, I created for myself. I never wore my own designs prior to 2017; so I wanted to step out of my comfort zone.

E: Do you mind describing each creative piece from this photo shoot and who was involved?

S: Model Shannel is wearing the Imani-Pleated Skirt

DSC_0430DSC_0449DSC_0475

 

 

Model (myself) is wearing Ava -high waisted pleated skirtDSC_0363DSC_0384FB_IMG_1504098962468

 

 

Model Brittney is wearing the Erica- wide-leg pant

DSC_0567DSC_0649DSC_0658

 

 

Model:Myself Symone-two piece backless bodice & straight panel, pleated circle skirt.

DSC_0302DSC_0286DSC_0304

 

 

Model Brittney: Naomi-Peplum gown skirt with train

DSC_0795DSC_0704DSC_0702DSC_0770DSC_0732
E:  Did you feel it to be cliche to do African prints with everyone seeing this as a trend? What do you feel has set you aside from the rest?

S: African/Ankara fashion is definitely on trend. I honestly hate trends.  I figured, if I was going to do it, I would do it my way. I decided to take the bold vibrant spirit of the fabric and make it wearable for everyday looks. You can dress it up or down.

E:  Do you have a men’s as well as children’s collection?  Accessories?

S: Not quite. I plan to venture into men’s fashion in the near future. I have dabbled in children’s wear. I try to stay away;  it gives me baby fever — lol.

E:  Any future projects lined up for this coming fall/winter?

S: Yes! I have something in stored. Unfortunately I can not reveal what it is. I like to create suspense and mystery.

E. I’d like to truly thank you for your time and efforts in such an amazing project.  I can’t wait to see what is coming next!

The Makeup Artist used for this project can be contacted directly through IG @brookii_shay_mua.  This young beauty is a self taught MUA ready to show the world her incredible talent.  She is ready, willing, and eager to learn, work hard, and get the job done! She is highly recommended for any and all of your makeup needs including SFX!

 

DSC_0161DSC_0166

dsc_0187-e1505069654909.jpgUntitled

 

For more of Shannon’s work please be sure to follow her handle as well: @srayniece
and check out more from my photography page @beautiful_khaos_images

Leave a comment